Tree of Souls - An Avatar Community Forum - View Single Post - The human condition of Morality - by Me
View Single Post
Old 12-05-2010, 06:10 AM
Ikran Makto
Spock is hopeful.

Default The human condition of Morality - by Me

Preamble:

In my investigation I explored how morality has comportment on the many different characters and organisations in the various texts I studied. The texts I investigated all have potent profiles that are either favourably or adversely affected by morality. ‘Macbeth’, ‘Gattaca’, ‘Stargate Universe’, ‘Avatar’, and ‘Suicide in the Trenches’ all have complimentary contexts when dealing with the human condition of my investigation, morality. In many of the texts the characters face a number of variables that influence their moral standing. Throughout this investigation I will be exploring how the context had bearing on this morality, what connections I can make between the characters morality and how a third party could be influenced by morality in the texts.

How does morality influence the perception of humanity in the texts by a philosophical or pragmatic third party?

A more blatant example of this can be found in Macbeth where it is stated that the natural order has been upset by Macbeth’s action of advancing himself to king. The same starkness isn’t found in other texts which makes Macbeth unique. But we must still post the question. How would a philosophical third party; if present such as in Macbeth, react to demonstrations of moral or immoral behaviour by human characters and organisations in the various texts? This opens the floodgates of philosophical thought; would they be disgusted or enlightened assuming they have a similar moral compass to us? Let’s assume this third party was to interpret morality in a similar way to humanity. Morality is a ‘human condition’ not an extraterrestrial or extra dimensional condition therefore my assumption is substantial when dealing with the issue of morality.