MOGWorld - Tree of Souls - An Avatar Community Forum
Tree of Souls - An Avatar Community Forum
Go Back   Tree of Souls - An Avatar Community Forum » Entertainment » Books

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-28-2011, 06:28 AM
Isard's Avatar
Old Guard
Isard -- Wait, you do hear the voices right?
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3,416
Send a message via Skype™ to Isard
Default MOGWorld

Quote:
In a world full to bursting with would-be heroes, Jim couldn't be less interested in saving the day. His fireballs fizzle. He's awfully grumpy. Plus, he's been dead for about sixty years. When a renegade necromancer wrenches him from eternal slumber and into a world gone terribly, bizarrely wrong, all Jim wants is to find a way to die properly, once and for all.
On his side, he's got a few shambling corpses, an inept thief, and a powerful death wish. But he's up against tough odds: angry mobs of adventurers, a body falling apart at the seams and a team of programmers racing a deadline to hammer out the last few bugs in their AI.
Mogworld is the debut novel from video-game icon Yahtzee Croshaw (Zero Punctuation). Mogworld is a comic fantasy novel in the tradition of Douglas Adams and Terry Pratchett, with a video-game twist: the main character is a minor character in a massively multiplayer online role-playing game.
This is without a doubt, the best thing I've read in months. Written by "Yatzee" Croshaw, creator and reviewer for "Zero Punctuation" for the Escapist Magazine, has published his first novel. Set in a familiar fantasy world (because we haven't seen near enough elves and dwarves beating each other with metal sticks now have we?) we meet Jim, the undead protagonist who really preferred the days before his unwanted resurrection, in his quest for eternal rest.

Filled with memorable characters, witty humor (Classic Yatzee), and much poking of the fun at Muhmorpaghuuuuuuuus... Great book.


Wonderful.


Five stars.



Read it.


It's $8 on Amazon.
__________________
The Emperor protects
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-28-2011, 02:11 PM
Human No More's Avatar
Toruk Makto, Admin
Human No More has no status.
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: In a datacentre
Posts: 11,750
Default

Sounds good, I may have to read this
__________________
...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



Visit our partner sites:

      pandoraworld.ru



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:11 PM.

Based on the Planet Earth theme by Themes by Design


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
All images and clips of Avatar are the exclusive property of 20th Century Fox.